How much power do i need for my build?

a67codkiller

Honorable
Apr 28, 2012
Please check out my lineup for by new build and tell me what supply i should get. This is my first build and i dont want to blow it up.

ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z/GEN3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68

Intel Core i5-2500K

EVGA SuperClocked GeForce GTX 560 T (SLI eventually)

one HDD and CD drive

G.SKILL 8GB (2 x 4GB) Ripjaws X Series DDR3 1600MHz

and aftermarket heat sink fan.

I was looking around, and i think that a 750W power supply would cover all of this, and from a good brand of course. Please tell me your recommendations.

Solution
For a system using a single GeForce GTX 560 Ti graphics card NVIDIA specifies a minimum of a 500 Watt or greater power supply that has a combined +12 Volt continuous current rating of 30 Amps or greater and that has at least two 6-pin PCI Express supplementary power connectors.

For a system using two GeForce GTX 560 Ti graphics cards in 2-way SLI mode NVIDIA specifies a minimum of a 700 Watt or greater power supply that has a combined +12 Volt continuous current rating of 52 Amps or greater and that has at least four 6-pin PCI Express supplementary power connectors.

Total Power Supply Wattage is NOT the crucial factor in power supply...
For a system using a single GeForce GTX 560 Ti graphics card NVIDIA specifies a minimum of a 500 Watt or greater power supply that has a combined +12 Volt continuous current rating of 30 Amps or greater and that has at least two 6-pin PCI Express supplementary power connectors.

For a system using two GeForce GTX 560 Ti graphics cards in 2-way SLI mode NVIDIA specifies a minimum of a 700 Watt or greater power supply that has a combined +12 Volt continuous current rating of 52 Amps or greater and that has at least four 6-pin PCI Express supplementary power connectors.

Total Power Supply Wattage is NOT the crucial factor in power supply selection!!! Total Continuous Amperage Available on the +12V Rail(s) is the most important factor.