Sign in with
Your question

Two nVidia Cards crashing to desktop but ATI works?? Overheating?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
November 18, 2011 2:59:38 AM

I've been having issues with games crashing to the desktop for some time. I've ran diagnostics, tried swapping cards - kind of at a loss. Thinking about just buying a new card but a bit hesitant - figured I'd run it past everyone here to get some thoughts. I wouldn't say I'm a noob when it comes to hardware - but I'm definitely not a gaming hardware Geek. I have my A+ certification - I work as a tech - but I troubleshooting these type of issues is not my forte.

My System Specs
Intel DX58SO Mainboard
Corsair 850W Power Supply
Corsair Dominator 6GB 1600Mhz CL7 Memory 3x2G (Triple Channel setup)
Intel Core i7 930 2.8Ghz 8MB LGA1366
eVGA Ge-Force GTS250 1GB HDMI
Acer GD235HZ LCD Monitor
Using On-Board Sound (Realtek HD) via Analog plug.
80GB Intel X25-M SSD HDD
Cooler Master Cosmos S Full Tower Case - all fans operating - all filters clean - case has room to vent.
nVidia 3D Vision Kit
Steelseries WoW Mouse + Software
Razer Lycosa Keyboard.
Windows 7 Professional, 64-Bit
Symantec End-Point Security AV
Latest Non-Beta nVidia Drivers
Have updated all other drivers / firmware, and have all Windows Updates.
I am not overclocking, although the Intel Turbo Boost is enabled in BIOS. I haven't disabled it since I was told it is only used in single core apps and that it is a fairly stable implementation.

Crash History during Gaming