Sign in with
Your question

Advice needed for a Mid-Range Gaming Rig

Last response: in Systems
January 17, 2012 1:01:02 AM

Okay hi guys I've been thinking about building my own rig for half a year now, I've been doing my research and I'm still confused as to what parts I should buy. This is my first time building a computer, so please bear with me.
I have an feeling as to what parts I want, but I'm still confused as to what's the best bang for your buck and what's the best to maximize the potential for each component.

I will be primarily using this system for Gaming the rest of the use for the system are secondary hobbies.

Ideally I would like max out Skyrim and hit nearly high settings on Battlefield 3.

And I know there's new cards coming out along with new processors but there's always something new coming out. I just want to build this thing.

Finally I must thank "theAnimal" for providing this layout.

Approximate Purchase Date: 17th Jan - 31st Jan (2 weeks basically)

Budget Range: I can spend around £500-£600 (Before Rebates)

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, Digital Painting (Photoshop), 3D Modeling, 3D Animations, 2D animations, Video Editing, Watching movies, Word Doc and Surfing the web. ( That should be everything)

Parts Not Required: Monitor (Although this is temporary)
The monitor should not be included within this budget. Although I would like recommendations. I am ideally looking for a 23" Screen at 1920x1080 resolution.

Preferred Website(s) for Parts:
Any that do successful deliveries to/within the UK

Parts Preferences:
With this part I'm not too sure as to what I want. I know that I want the Intel I5 2500k as I would like overclocking to be an option. Anyway I'll just list the parts that I'm thinking about

CPU: Intel i5 2500k
Price: £166.80
http://www.aria.co.uk/SuperSpecials/Other+products/Inte...