Newbie looking for some advice

simplestudent

Distinguished
Nov 18, 2011
Hello Tom's Hardware Community,

I will be the first to admit that I am still new to the computer field. However, I am taking courses to further my education about this growing field. Currently I'm doing research on Graphic Cards. How they work, what the details mean, and how to compare one card to the next. I have been referred by a couple of my friends to this site and this community of people. The content and the knowledge found here is held in high regard. This is why I turn to you. I'm looking for other informative sites specifically about graphic cards. How they work and what that page of details means. I would appreciate any advice or direction that you may have to offer as your are the professionals and I am simple just a student eager to learn. I have read through the beginners guide on this site and it has helped me a great deal. I'm looking to take it further and move into greater detail on the certain aspects of the graphic card. What the speeds mean and how do the relate to each other? Where does the data tend to bottleneck and what steps can be taken to fix this problem and end up with the best results for someones particular needs. Thanks in advance for any information or direction you can give.

funguseater

Distinguished
This is a pretty complicated topic, hope you have some spare time ;)

Some reading material (its pretty dense but you can Google for unfamiliar concepts) http://www.cs.virginia.edu/~gfx/papers/pdfs/59_HowThingsWork.pdf

Guide to model numbers... http://blog.kingj.net/2008/10/20/uncategorized/a-guide-to-graphics-card-model-numbers/

Tom's review of 32 mid-range cards... http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/geforce-radeon-graphics,2977.html

It seems hard to find a general FAQ or Topic about this... maybe my search skills are lacking though...

Some things to know: