Building Oil Cooled PC!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

Deleted member 658570

So I've decided to start building an oil cooled computer. My friend had an old hp G60 computer with a broken screen lying around so that's what I'm going to use. Although I've built desktops before, I've never attempted an oil PC build and I've never worked with laptop parts before. I am planning on using mineral oil and probably a 6 gallon aquarium tank and then mount the PC to a piece of acrylic. I'll put the hard drive and DVD burner on the top with like a slit to use it. Hopefully I can get some testing in before the summer (I have a pretty hefty workload this semester). The questions I have are:

-I've heard the mineral oil will eat up some plastics, sometimes leaving the components floating at the top, what should I expect to dissolve and how can I prevent that?

-I'm planning on just putting the whole motherboard in the oil, do I need to remove the thermal paste or heat sinks or anything before I put it in oil?

-There are a couple random plugins that were empty when I received the motherboard (I'm not sure if it was like that before my friend opened it or not) and I wanted to know what they were for. Is there like a way I can get a detailed manual or something that says it? I've checked the owners manual and it offered little help.

-I know a lot of laptops are proprietary, but is there a standard motherboard mounting configuration for the hp G60?

-What are some solutions to making the display ports and usb ports accessible? I've thought about putting the motherboard to the side of the tank and sealing it with silicone and buying some extenders and just putting them all at the top of the tank. What would be the best way to do this?

-Any other build advice or some resources would be helpful!

Solution