Power calculation for new build?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kdon27

Distinguished
May 17, 2010
I'm a total hardware newbie and this is my first build so any advice or suggestions (perhaps something I've missed or hardware compatibility issues) are much appreciated.

i5-2400
Gigabyte GA-H61M-S2P-B3 (mATX)
Powercolour HD 6850 1GB DDR5 (is this a good GPU brand?)
Corsair 4GB DDR3
Seagate 160GB SATAII HDD
2 additional 80mm external (case mounted) fans
No DVD drive
No extra PCI devices
Upto 4 USB devices (max)
No OC on anything (and I dont want to attempt it in future)

I used http://extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp but surprisingly I get only 354W!! I'm sure I have missed something - help please!

many thanks :)

Ps. what PSU brands do you recommend? I was looking at a thermaltake 600W for $65 but i've heard bad things about the quality of their PSUs...

Solution
Thermaltake is not a bad brand to go with for a psu. Its just not a great brand to go with. If you have a good deal on the Thermaltake psu you should go for it. Otherwise invest more on Corsiar, Antec, Seasonic, etc. 600W is plenty for that system and you could go to 550W if you like.

I'd go for another brand in GPU. Powercolor sometimes doesn't include things you need like power connectors. Why they do this, I don't know. Sapphire is probably the better brands to go with but ASUS, XFX, and HIS are good brands too.

BohleyK

Distinguished
Oct 8, 2009
Thermaltake is not a bad brand to go with for a psu. Its just not a great brand to go with. If you have a good deal on the Thermaltake psu you should go for it. Otherwise invest more on Corsiar, Antec, Seasonic, etc. 600W is plenty for that system and you could go to 550W if you like.

I'd go for another brand in GPU. Powercolor sometimes doesn't include things you need like power connectors. Why they do this, I don't know. Sapphire is probably the better brands to go with but ASUS, XFX, and HIS are good brands too.

Solution