First Time Build Advice Needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

jsek89

Distinguished
Jan 18, 2012
Hey everyone, this is my first time ever looking into a build...I've always purchased systems but I think it's about time I do it myself. I do unfortunately have a budget this first time around, I mainly would like to set up a good bang for the buck system for gaming primarily. I'd like to stay under 700-800 if possible. I did do some searching around newegg and compiled a list of potential parts but as I said, I have never done this before...any advice would be greatly appreciated! The build will more than likely take place after my birthday in April since I will have a little bit more funding. But, anyway, here is my list so far:

CPU - AMD FX-4100 (Zembezi) 3.6 GHz - 109.99
Graphics Card - Gigabyte Radeon HD 6850 (256 bit) - 139.99
Motherboard - BioStar TA990FXE - 129.99
Hard Drive - Hitachi 500GB - 79.99
RAM - G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2x4GB) - 39.99
Power Supply - Antec HCG-620w - 74.99
Optical Drive - Basic OEM Sony/Asus - 19.99
Case - HAF 912 - 59.99
*Operating System? I looked at Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit - 99.99

Assistance would be wonderful as I am a noob with Hardware so far, definitely wanting to learn all I can though.

Solution
If your not buying till April or so then by then Ivy Bridge may be out and the Sandy Bridge may drop a little in price and you may be able to pick one up at a resonable price. The Sandy Bridge is so nery easy to over clock that you should be able to get up to around 4.3 or 4.5 ghz without any trouble at all even with your lack of experience.
The system build that you have does look good but for gaming the Sandy Bridge cpu'd are much better then the AMD cpu. I'm not saying that so you have to go out and change to an Intel cpu but so you know that if you are primarily using the Pc for gaming that the Intel Sandy Bridge is a better choice.