Is this configuration ok ?

tagxl007

Distinguished
Jan 19, 2012
Hi everyone My name is PJ, I am looking to build a workstation, i will primarily run the adobe suite of graphics products, corel x5, and possible some gaming as i am game art and design major, now the following is what i have come up with, please let me know if i can make any changes without adding too much more to the price tag or of any incompatibilities, its been a while since i last built a rig so i am new to SATA and PCIE and any help is greatly appreciated.

And please keep in mind i would love a 3x sli or crossfire setup but as a student i cannot afford it, im barely gonna be able to get this and its only because im unable to run these programs with my current pc's. so ultimately it needs to run multiple graphics editing software and not cost me 10 grand.

Here Goes:
(this is all off of newegg.com)

CASE
Antec 1100 super mid tower

MOBO
ASUS Sabertooth X79 LGA2011 SATA 6gb/s usb 3.0

CPU
i7 3930K Sandybridge-E 3.2ghz unlocked six core

RAM
Patriot Viper Xtreme 8gb (2x4) ddr3 1866 Pc315000 = 32gb total 8 sticks

SSD
Patriot Pyro 120gb SATA III MLC SSD

HDD
Seagate Pipeline HD 1TB

PSU
Coolermaster D3 1300watt modular

GPU
EVGA Geforce GTX460 2win Fermi 2GB 512bit GDDR5 Pci Express 2,0 x16

OPTICAL
HP BD340i BluRay dvd Burner Combo SATA
ASUS BDROM SATA

Sound 5.1 onboard
Gigabit Lan onboard

COOLING
CPU will be cooled by Corsair Hydro Series 100
Rest of pc is Air cooled via fan temp controller

Card reader / bluetooth / webcam etc etc.

MONITORS
2x Samsung E1920X 18.5 inch LCD

WINDOWS 7 Ultimate 64 bit.

TOTAL COST APPROX. $3500

Thanks In Advance. Please let me know if i missed anything

tagxl007

Distinguished
Jan 19, 2012
Well I know its not best of the best cuz that was costin 12 grand lol but I figured im gonna build it, might as well spend the extra money and make it future proof for the next 5-7 years as far as graphics software is concerned since ill be using it in my business as well.