Xeon LGA2011 vs i7 LGA2011 help

Tapion817

Distinguished
Dec 9, 2009
Good evening everyone. I have to make a decision and I haven't been able to make a decision. I'm a 3D animator and I'm building a new computer because, well frankly, my current one is quite ancient in the 3D realm. Yes, I still currently run DDR2 RAM. I have looked around and have decided to go with a LGA 2011 socket motherboard and processor, but I am having a difficulty on deciding which one. I'm on a budget so I can't just go all out, but I do want the most for my money. The three processors I've been looking at have been the Intel Core i7-3820 Sandy Bridge-E 3.6ghz Quad Core, Intel Xeon E5-2609 Sandy Bridge-EP 2.4GHz Quad Core, and the Intel Xeon E5-2620 Sandy Bridge-EP 2.0GHz Six Core.

I do play games, but I'm not making a gaming rig, I'm making a new home workstation to work on some freelance animation work. Which one of these three should I go with and why? What are the Pros and Cons on getting i7 over Xeon or vice versa? If it is better to go with a Xeon chip, how much better would the six core be over the quad core. I've been breaking my head over it and would love to get some feedback. Thank you for your time to help me out.

Solution

You are looking to do a high-end work; the efficient and the powerful the CPU and RAM, the better the system for your work. I am sceptical of those two Xeons. You have got to grab a decent xeon, say 2 x Xeon x5660, which would cost you $2500 for the CPU alone.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819117230

http://www.cpubenchmark.net/high_end_cpus.html

Is the performance gain of 2 xeons over 1 i7 is worth the price. My...

SSri

Distinguished
Mar 11, 2010
I wonder if those xeon's were ancient. They are priced less than US$400!

What's your budget? You need a CPU power and a lot of RAM. Rendering / 3D may need a good GPU. Would you be using Adobe CS5 to CS6 for animation? Do you want to overclock?