First time builder needs advice for a build($1500-1800)

johnsonma

Distinguished
Jan 19, 2012
Approximate Purchase Date: Hopefully by the end of the month

Budget Range: 1500-1800

System: 95% gaming then browsing the internet and some movies.

Parts Not Required: I don't need a keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers, wireless adapter.

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: all the parts i picked were from newegg.

Parts Preferences: Only thing I am completely decided on is a intel processor and a mobo that supports it.

Overclocking: yes but only moderately (not even close to an expert in oc'ing)

SLI or Crossfire: Yes but not at first to keep the budget down, after I get it built i will work on getting another card

Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080, 1920x1200 on 37 inch TV.

Additional Comments: going to be a gaming machine first and foremost.

MOBO:

GIGABYTE GA-Z68XP-UD3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

I am a complete noob when it comes to mobo's, any advice would be appreciated. The main thing i want out of the mobo is to be able to handle two large video cards with enough space for them to be adequately cooled. I read some reviews for the gtx 580 that said they like to overheat when they are in sli and close together.

Processor:

Intel Core i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 3.3GHz (3.7GHz Turbo Boost) LGA 1155 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 3000 BX80623I52500K

I was going to go a little more expensive with the processor but I read a couple threads that said the 2500 was a great pick for gaming and 2500k was what you wanted if you wanted to o/c.

CPU Cooler:

COOLER MASTER Hyper N 520 RR-920-N520-GP 92mm Sleeve CPU Cooler Intel Core i7 compatible

No real experience with heatsinks and processors. Open to any and all advice.

Case:

AZZA Hurrican 2000R SAZ-2000R Black (exterior)/Red (interior) SECC Japanese Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case