Your question

New build wont enter bios

Tags:
  • New Build
  • BIOS
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
January 19, 2012 7:04:09 PM

ive just created an account here as ive just built a new gaming computer for myself. this is my first build, luckily i didnt screw anything up. so here is my problem, when i start the computer, it goes into the screen with the mobo logo and the list of all my hardware, it says it failed to start CMOS or something. i tried pressing delete to go into the bios but it doesnt do anything. after about 5-10 seconds it goes into a screen that just says "Reboot and select proper boot device or insert boot media in selected drive". after that, it wont let me enter the bios. like i said, this is my first build and first time doing any of this. ive tried resetting the CMOS, but that didnt do much. do i just need the OS disk to enter the bios? im sure this is an easy fix, but anything you can tell me will be a great help. im learning.

hardware:
biostar a880gz motherboard
amd fx-4100 cpu
2 2gb ddr3 crucial memory sticks
corsair builder series cx430 psu
the gfx is an integrated amd radeon 4200 series. once i get into the bios, im installing a radeon hd 6770

EDIT: all the cables are plugged in correctly. I AM SURE. the HDD is a seagate barracuda 500gb 7200rpm. the computer will correctly POST. but it tells me that there is a CMOS fail.

i will be running it on windows xp (for now)

More about : build wont enter bios

January 19, 2012 7:48:53 PM

An OS disk won't help you get into the BIOS. If you are at the point of the OS disk mattering you can't go into the BIOS anymore anyway.

When you turn on the computer, hit delete over and over, even if you don't see a menu asking you to and even if it beeps at you.

You will want to examine what the drives are, so take them back out and check that. It does matter.

List what the maker/sizes are from the labels and then connect only the smallest one when you put them back in.