Help Me Pick a Case (First Time Builder)

inthewright

Honorable
Mar 13, 2012
Hello All,

Thank you for taking the time to read my thread. I am embarking on my first computer build, and I'm trying to pick a case with the following qualities:

1. Excellent Cable Management - As this is my first time, I would like a good amount of room to play around.

2. Room Behind the MoBo - I have been reading reviews of cases, and there are quite a few people who complain about the area behind the motherboard. I have large hands, and this may be a concern for me. I would also like to add an aftermarket cooler (air, probably not going to do liquid cooling).

3. I really like the new Asus P8Z77 (Pro or Deluxe) MoBo's because of the Built in WiFi, and some of the other features. This series has a Black and Blue color scheme. I would like the case colors to be compatible (White, Black, Blue).

4. I would like enough room for a long video card. I will probably go with a GTX 680 once they're in stock for more than 20 minutes.

5. I would like the case to have dust filters. I have a giant dog, and he sheds quite a bit (the beast has been eating the trash as I write this).

What I have checked out so far (by Price range):

I. Low Price Range: NZXT Phantom (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811146068)
Pros: Inexpensive (comparably), matches the color scheme, somewhat roomy
Cons: Can only use NZXT Fans(?), lots of plastic for my big hands to break, poor instructions

II. Mid Price Range: Cooler Master HAF X Blue Edition (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811119239)
Pros: Matches the color scheme, seems roomy, comes with some extension cables for my poor cable management
Cons: People complain about build quality, say it has issues with GTX 680 (spacing wise), would need modification for a future SLI build

III. High Price Range: Thermaltake Level 10 GT (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811133188)