Sign in with
Your question

M-Audio 2496 Right Channel problems

Last response: in Components
May 3, 2012 1:48:45 AM

I am a music producer, so I have a PCI audio card that I use for production. I have an audiophile 2496 with the RCA outs going into a 4 channel mixer with the main out on the mixer returning to my audiophile's RCA ins, and the headphone jack goes out to my speakers/headphones. I just recently noticed that the audio seems to be left-justified.

For instance, when I am playing a game like The Witcher 2, when things are to the right of my character, they sound as though they are behind me and when things are to the right of my character, they sound clear as day. I opened up my delta drivers and found that the audio seems to be in full stereo as far as the card can tell, but when I tested the card using Windows 7's audio test, only the left channel is putting out audio while I can make out the faintest whisper of the test on the right channel. I took a second look at all my gear, and all my cables are stereo cables. I suspect it may be a bad RCA cable, as unplugging the left RCA out cuts all the audio, but audio on the whole seems to be coming out of both speakers just fine, just not when the audio PANS or is supposed to be in only one speaker. In my audio software, panning from the left channel to the right channel is basically just a volume control, as the right channel is but the faintest of faint whispers coming from my system. Panning from the left channel to the right channel sounds like it's just lowering the volume.

The card has the most recent drivers and I have changed all the cables but the RCA-to-3.5mm stereo cable coming from my soundcard to the mixer. My money is on that cable being the issue, but if it's not, I would like to hear any other ideas. My full system specs are as follows

Gigabyte 880GA-UD3H mobo (on-board audio disabled in BIOS and realtek audio drivers have been uninstalled)
AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE processor