Intel core i7 2700k vs 2600k

Hello, I wish to exchange my AMD Athlone ll x 2245 MHz processor for the i7 2600 (or perhaps 2700). I am no hardware expert, but would I be able to install this processor myself or would the job have to be done by an expert?
6 answers Last reply
More about intel core 2700k 2600k
  1. You need to ensure that that the current mobo is compatible with i7 2600 or i7 2700. It is not difficult to make hardware changes, provided you take care to discharge the static electricity.
  2. Beethoven said:
    Hello, I wish to exchange my AMD Athlone ll x 2245 MHz processor for the i7 2600 (or perhaps 2700). I am no hardware expert, but would I be able to install this processor myself or would the job have to be done by an expert?

As the previous reply stated, you will need a compatible motherboard to change processors. Intel CPUs cannot be used on AMD mobos. So chances are you will need to replace your motherboard to work with your new cpu if you change from an AMD cpu to an Intel cpu.
  3. Beethoven said:

The jump from AMD Athlon II x2 245 to i7 2600K or i7 2700K is huge & expensive ( the processor is ~$300 + you need to buy a new motherboard ~$120 ). It is not a matter of unplugging the old processor & plugging the new one because the intel i7 will not work with your AMD motherboard as stated above. Its a big job. Are you sure you need such upgrade?
    Anyway, why do you want to upgrade? Do you find your computer slow at doing everyday tasks or you are not happy when gaming?
  4. Since you will need a new motherboard, this will entail rebuilding your entire system. In turn, you need to check which of your existing components are compatible with the new motherboard and buy new ones where not. If you're not comfortable doing this, you can get an expert to do it or buy a new computer.

Most people who post on these boards will tell you that building your own computer is easy and fun. All you need is: