icex

Distinguished
Jul 30, 2007
Hey,

I'm new to building pc's, ( excuse me for the stupid questions too if any :p ) and right now I am at the point of putting in the stock heatsink fan. I noticed that the cable is too long since the 4 pin socket to connect it to is very close by (and also in between big heatpipes as my motherboard is GA-P35-DQ6) and I don't want the cables to just go up high in the air where it can move around into the wrong place pretty easily. Also if i use cable ties i wonder how many loops i should do in the air with them or so for best efficiency ;/

Oh yeah i noticed that some people have solved the cable length problem like this
C2D29.jpg
(not my pic as u can see by the way)
but I thought the heatsink would be too hot and ruin the cables such as melt it, shortcircuit it or something else?
Because of this it has got me wondering, can someone tell me what temperature the heatsink would get to at max maybe of the stock cooler, cause I thought it transfers all the heat from the cpu through it and that it'd be pretty damn hot under full load at like 70C possibly, unless I got it alll wrong about how hot heat sinks would get compared to the CPU.

Thanks

My stock Intel cooler on a stock e6750 hasn't gotten as high as 40c yet, even after hours of Guild Wars. That's not the most stressful game out there by a long shot, but I doubt there's much of anything you'd be likely to run that would make it hit so much as 50c, unless you're planning a high overclock. In that case, you want a better aftermarket cooler anyway.

robx46

Distinguished
Sep 28, 2006
The heatsink itself won't melt cables. If it does, you are in big trouble! The temp readings you would see for your cpu are for the cpu itself, not the heatsink.
Even without a fan the heatsink wouldn't be as hot as the cpu itself, but that is obvious. And since you have air blowing through the heatsink (via the fan) it cools off even more.