Ivy vs Sandy confusion

dc007

Honorable
May 5, 2012
So I will be building a new computer soon and I think i'm pretty set on a i-5. I've been reading the articles and forum posts on this board all day. I am going to build the computer in about a month or so but already bought Core i5 3570K 3.4GHz LGA 1155 Processor due to the deal micro center has. (Haven't picked it up yet)

This will be my first computer build.

It seems from reading this board, you can OC the Sandy bridge version (2500 I believe) higher than you can the Ivy version (due to heat, correct me if i'm wrong). With that being said, at 20 dollars cheaper, is there any reason to get the Ivy version over Sandy? Again, being a total newbie, I can't really seem to see much of a difference reading the articles that has reviewed them already, but i'm sure there could be something Ivy does that would make it better to buy for the future.

Also, since somebody informed me in another post that I can save 50 dollars at micro center if i buy the mobo at the same time as the cpu, would either of these 2 be good to pair with either? I plan to do a full suggestion form once I actually build the computer for suggestions, just need help on this since I will be grabbing these 2 parts this weekend. In general, probably only doing medium gaming (Wow, Skyrim, maybe something like COD when i'm bored.), web surfing, might set it up as my hub for my home server to stream movies and stuff.

ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

or

ASUS P8Z68-V LE LGA 1155 Intel Z68 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard with UEFI BIOS

dc007

Honorable
May 5, 2012