Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Random Advice and Last Second Pointers

Last response: in Systems
January 23, 2012 6:39:37 PM

Well my last box was received today and the build will start tonight (I did install the PSU, SSD, and Optical drive already).

Are there any last second tips and tricks that may make it go smoothly? This is my first build and some things I would have done wrong, (I think) I've corrected.

i.e. I'm running the OS off of the SSD, so when the install is done, I'll leave my HDD disconnected to prevent it from being primary, correct?

Also...I am running a wireless card, but it didn't come with a driver disc, so I assume I will have to plug the computer directly to my router at first, correct?

And...will my Lite ON DVD automatically be detected by the MOBO? (If not...how would I install windows?)

Oh yeah...the TX650 seems to be overboard on cables...should I just tuck them away or are there any tricks with the HAF 912? I already removed the SSD cage and the upper HDD cage too since I'm only running 1 of each.

One more...stupid question that I will probably have answered when I watch the Hyper Cooler + video, but do I still use the i5-2500k stock heatsink if I'm using an aftermarket cooler? I suppose I will picture this better in my head once the parts start coming together...

Thanks in advance...and thanks again to everyone who helped me get to this point. I'm not exaggerating in the slightest when I say I wouldn't be where I am today without this site. :pt1cable: 

More about : random advice pointers

January 23, 2012 6:48:29 PM

no, the hyper 212+ (if that is your cooler) is the whole heatsink, you do not need the heatsink that comes with your i5, unless you dont do any overclocking etc, then it may have been enough but you already bought your parts....