Multi-Phase Do-it-all desktop on a budget

Status
Not open for further replies.

chubbywan

Distinguished
Jan 23, 2012
Hey everyone,

I've been out of the game a while, haven't built a PC for myself in about 5 yrs. I work in IT and follow the hardware though so I've got a pretty good idea what I want. Having kids has prevented me from upgrading a few times but its finally time to say goodbye to the old workhorse and build something new. In order to help my budget out, I'm going to do this in a couple phases:

Phase I: Mobo, CPU, RAM
Phase II: Video Card, PSU, SSD
Phase III: Blu Ray Drive,

First let me tell you what I'm running now:

ASUS P5B-Deluxe-Wifi mobo
Intel C2D E6300
6 GB PC2-6400
NVIDIA GeForce 7600GS
2 x 500 GB SATA-150 HD's
Cooler Master CM-690 Case
2xDVD-RW's
Antec NEO 500W PSU
22" Monitor, speakers, kb, mouse, etc, etc
I also have a 2 yr old 128GB Samsung SSD (don't know the model off the top of my head) that was given to me.

AND here's what I want:

Approximate Purchase Date: in the next month
Budget Range: $700-ish
System Usage from Most to Least Important: A little bit of everything: Video conversion, some gaming, surfing, office apps, lots of tinkerint with networks and multiple OS's.
Parts Not Required: KB, Mouse, Monitor, Case, optical drives, storage drives, psu
Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Micro Center 1st and Newegg if they won't pricematch
Parts Preferences: Intel looks best now, no real preferecne
Overclocking: Yes
SLI or Crossfire: Maybe
Monitor Resolution: 1680 x 1050 (hoping to upgrade this yr)
Additional Comments: I want something that will last me a bit with quality components. I've had my current build for 5 years and haven't had any major parts go bad, just a couple cheap fans.

So for phase 1, I want to reuse my current setup, pop in that SSD for my boot drive and replace the Mobo, cpu and ram with this:

Mobo: Gigabyte GA-Z68XP $104 http://www.microcenter.com/single_product_results.phtml?product_id=0366193