Sign in with
Your question

Card recommendations for small case

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
November 25, 2011 5:58:58 PM

I own an HP 210y desktop pc and I am looking to upgrade the gpu and probably the power supply. I will primarily use the card for gaming. Specs are as follows (I am relatively new to pc upgrades so please let me know if I have left any relevant info out):

Case: Mid-Size ATX
Motherboard: Foxconn H-R8800-uAtx
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 945 3.0ghz
Memory: 8gb 10600 mb/sec (can increase to 16, and I am completely open to doing this)
HDD: 1TB 5400rpm
PSU: 300W
GPU: Radeon HD5450

Currently I am playing Skyrim and would like to at least approach Ultra settings with 40+ fps. Also would like to get BF3 and hopefully run at a high level at 45-60 fps. Maybe wishful thinking given my processor and space constraints.

I only have one PCI Express slot (occupied by the 5450) so I don't think I have the option of SLI or Crossfire.

I currently am playing Skyrim on a 42 inch tv with resolution set at 1336 x 768. And would probably play BF3 the same way. But, would like the (if possible) to play at higher res on a pc monitor.

So, I have been researching cards and I've got the consent of the wife to spend up to $400 on gpu and psu. But I don't know what will fit in the slot after I take the 5450 out. I am honestly willing to get the absolute best i can within that price range, but I'm worried about the size factor. And I don't know at what point a card will become overkill with the limits of my processor. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Below are the cards I've been considering.

GTX 560 ti 1gb PNY xlr8 - currently PNY has a deal for the card, 2x4gb ddr3 ram, mini hdmi cable, and Batman: Arkham City for $249. I've been leaning the most toward this card because I think (hope) the size of it would work.