* HDMI connections: 3 (1 side 2 rear)
* S-Video Inputs: 3 (1 side 2 rear)
* Component Video A/V Input: 2 (rear)
* USB 2.0 Connection: (1 side)
* PC (RGB) input: 1 (rear)
* Composite video input: 1 (side)
* Headphone Jack: 1 (side)
* RF input: 2 (rear)

any of these work? (I'm a total noob when it comes to audio connections)

choirbass

Distinguished
Dec 14, 2005
there doesnt seem to be any left and right channel rca analog outputs (or optical/coaxial digital audio outputs, it only offers HDMI for that)... so the closest thing it seems you can get with your 2.1s is to connect them to the headphone output jack. and that should provide 2 channel stereo to your 2.1 channel speakers

choirbass

Distinguished
Dec 14, 2005
well, for the Z-4Is, the HDMI connections wont matter, even with both the dvd player and TV supporting them. it doesnt seem that the Z-4Is have a digital audio input on them, and so no digital decoder then for dolby digital or dts either, based on the review im looking at anyhow:

http://www.xyzcomputing.com/index.php?option=content&task=view&id=495&Itemid=2&limit=1&limitstart=0

if you dont mind listening to dvds and such in analog 2 channel stereo, then the Z-4Is should work fine (left and right channel analog rca inputs are both on the back of the sub... again, it doesnt look like it supports a digital interface at all)

edit: as far as being supported, you can run a 1/8" male to 1/8" male stereo cable from the TVs headphone jack to the Z-4Is green stereo input jack... or you can run 2 rca cables from the dvd player to the Z-4Is to get analog stereo that way... the dvd player should have left and right channel analog rca outputs on it.

choirbass

Distinguished
Dec 14, 2005