Beginner’s Question about choosing a Desktop systems

Unrealmaster287

Distinguished
Jan 25, 2012
Hello,
I am new to building desktops and desktops in general (but I am experienced in the area of notebooks) and I would like to purchase my first “proper” PC soon, so I would like to ask should I purchase it from Dell, Origin, or build it from scratch?
Currently I am interested in dell’s alienware system the Aurora, and origin’s Genesis but can’t make up my mind! Alienware seems like an all in one pre prepared package but origin gives you more control over the parts you use like motherboard, etc. and seems infinitely upgradable so it’s the closest thing that I have to custom building a pc (with my skill set) . Does it really make a difference!
Second thing if I purchase an origin, will I be able to change the motherboard/CPU/GPU to match the latest specs, same for alienware?
So I would like to ask which of the 2 you would recommend origin or Dell. Or is there any other good ones?

Thank you in advance

captjack5169

Distinguished
Sep 3, 2008
The is a question of Preference. If you are willing to do the research and have the patience to learn. I recommend building your own. To get a feel for what that is like I recommend youtube or going here. http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=791179&page=513 Tom's is also the best place for suggested builds. Alienware has a profit margin on their computers of about 100% put short your not getting what you are paying for. So I say build your own. You will know whats in it and you will learn how to troubleshoot the issues when your done. I have been doing for years its a blast.

Wolfshadw

Titan
My (very) basic rule of thumb is if the budget is over $600, then build it yourself. I've not heard of Origin before and I've not had problems with the two Dell laptops I've purchased over the years.