Sign in with
Your question

Questions on budget gaming build.

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
May 8, 2012 8:34:20 PM

Hi, I'm a noob trying hard for first DIY computer, been reasearching for 3 days stright and my eyes are all bloodshot. 4 quick questions....

Parts so far:
CPU: i5-2500k $219
MoBo: Asrock z68 Extreme3 Gen3 $121
GPU: Asus Radeon 6850 $129(after rebate)
RAM: G.Skill R.j.8GB(2x4Gb)1600 $47
Chasis: CoolerMaster HAF 912 $59
HDD: Seagate Barracuda7200, 6GB/s, 1TB $99
PSU: Seasonic M12II 620w $89

Question1: Good/bad build per $? why?
Question2: Do I need this $89 620w PSU, or can I get a cheaper recommendation?
Question3: Can I CrossfireX this later with a second Radeon6850, or did I miss some Xfire compatibility problem? Would the 620w PSU still be enough power?
Question4: The i5-3550k is selling for the same price now (newegg.com) of $219, and it's faster, but the reviews all say it's very hot and I'd need a water-cooling system, which I don't want to mess with. Still, would I be a fool to pay same price for the i5-2500k?

But most importantly(as an extention of Question1), will these parts all work together, and also not bottle-neck each other?
-Thanks.
May 8, 2012 9:14:05 PM

If you want get the most responses from people, check out the New Build category under "Systems" and format your inquiry something like the template provided in the "How to Ask For New Build Advice". The more experienced builders know about your circumstances, the more complete their answers will be.

To answer a few of your questions:

1. What are you going to be using this PC for, gaming primarily, office tasks primarily, 3D design, etc.

2.That looks like a good psu, you might find comparable units from the likes of Corsair or Antec at varying prices at that wattage, but $70-$90 is about right for the good quality units. There are many things to consider - such as efficiency (80 plus bronze, silver, gold), how many amps are available on the +12v rail, etc.