Intel quad core q9550 cpu
asus p5q mobo
2 * 2 gb zion ram
gts 250 1gb eco nvidia card
20 inch lcd display
speakers
1 dvd rom drive
1 hdd 1TB

How much power would this pc consume under idle , normal and full load conditions.??????????????

I have a 600 watt cooler master smps , which delivers around 450 watts effectively.(i read a review of it )

now i have bought a ups of 600 va / 360 watt , i am running the pc on idle and normal web browsing and other operations and its working fine.

My question is , if i start playing games like fifa 12 , will it be able to handle it or not??

if not , what is the solutoin then..

dedekind

Distinguished
Apr 14, 2012
I guess you could just try. I don't know how much power you will use in your situation. You can get a power meter or something that tells you that.. or just try if the ups works in battery mode with fifa 12 at least enough time to shut down.

EDIT: I don't know a recommended way of doing this test though. I think just unplugging the UPS from the wall could work but this entails some risks I believe.

rajyohanson

Honorable
Apr 25, 2012
Yes, the risk being when the battery runs out, it could potentially kill something when it randomly shuts off. :) Probably not though. The TDP of your CPU is 95w. RAM - Non existant draw - Video card - 165w under intense load. LCD has it's own power supply and doesn't count. speakers have their own power supply and dont count. Hard drive about 15w. Give or take some fans and some other misc stuff like optical drives, I'd say you come in right about 300w -/+ under a good load.

Didn't your UPS come with a monitoring application that allows you to monitor the power consumption?

You can use such an application and figure it all out yourself by putting your system under various loads.

Run the game and check the application to see how much power is being drawn through the UPS. You don't need to be running on battery power because you're just trying to gauge the maximum power draw.