Full Tower or Mid??

yamaha772

Distinguished
Jan 21, 2012
Hi guys.
This is my first build and i have been looking all over and i just cant decide if i will need a full tower or not.
My build will consist of this:
P8Z68- V Pro
1 TB Western Digital HDD
80GB Intel SSD
Radeon HD 6950
Asus DVD Reader Writer
Corsair 750W Power Supply
8 or 16GB ram...Havent fully decided on this one yet... any suggestions are welcomed.... i will use this for movies, a lot of gaming, browsing, college work... etc
Intel i5 2500k
Which case do you think will work best? I want usb 3.0 and good fan circulation.... Something like the Antec Twelve Hundred V3 as a full tower example.
Thanks guys!!

No one needs a full tower case unless they have huge hands and a lot of space under their desk they want to fill
Bigger cases dont cool better .

You wont need 16 gig of RAM for gaming . Even 2 x4 gig is overkill but it is good value .1600MHz and 1.5 volt or less

Unless you might add a second graphics card a 650 watt psu is plenty

80 gig is marginal for a boot drive . You will want a conventional hard drive as well , so you can install a smaller 32 - 40 SSD as a cache drive and get almost all of the performance of the larger SSD without the cost .

I like the look of the new Antec 300 two

If you are going to be over clocking your GPU's and CPU, simply put, there;s no substitution for lots of room and lots of air flow.....smaller mid tower cases can provide comparable air flow but the smaller fans / higher speeds mean more noise. If not cranking on the GPUs and CPU, you can easily get away w/ the smaller cases.

Along that vein, putting a Corsair TX 750 in an Antec 1200 V3 would be a mistake. The CP-850 has more power, is cheaper, more highly rated, quieter and runs cooler....and it's designed specifically for the 1200 and just 4 other cases.

http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=NDReviews&op=Story4&reid=142