gameill

Honorable
Apr 26, 2012
Have been seeing a lot of budget builds. Seems like i might be the only dude in the world who went with Phenom 2 x4 965BE. What gives? I read about the bad gaming performance of Zambezi, and generally amazing reviews of the Phenom.

IM not a fanboy of either chipset manufacturer, just that Phenom seems unreal at 120. That, and this is my first time not getting ripped off at best buy. Any insight is appreciated, as i am buying my internals in a few days. (Yay d3)

Solution
Phenom II isn't bad the i3 depending on what games benched will slightly win/slightly lose/draw level however if you leave gaming and look at other tasks the Phenom X4 thrashes the i3 largely. Ivybridge compatibility is a stupid reason to state.... the CPU has nothing to do with that that would depend on you pairing the (budget) i3 with a expensive board (z77) and only then be relevent if you plan to go and replace the i3 in the next year as after that socket 1155 and Ivybridge will both be old news as Haswell and a new socket replaces them.

Its a good budget buy still and it outperforms the budget FX chips. FX is junk hence the fact its constantly on great cheap offers and thats why people buy it.

Your correct that you can OC to 980...

gameill

Honorable
Apr 26, 2012
That's a really cool tool there. Thanks for that.

I had some advice that i could oc to a 980be specs on stock cooler.... that compares much better to the i3, but IM still not even sure what the numbers on those benchmarks mean. That and a lot are miniscule differences (numbers close).

Why is amd so bad?

wr6133

Feb 10, 2012