Mac vs Dell questions

Ldema3333

Distinguished
Jan 26, 2012
Hello,
I am getting a new desktop, I am a photographer therefore I do a lot of editing in Photoshop, Canon Raw and Bridge. I know I can get more bank for my buck with Dell but all of my photog friends say I should go with Mac. I am looking at :
2.7Ghz Quad-Core i5
8GB 1333Mhz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x4GB
1TB ATA drive
AMD Radeon HD 6770M 512MB GDDRS

After speaking with an Apple guy yesterday he said that I would be fine with the 4 GB and if it were him he would stick with 4 instead of 8. What do yall think about that ?

I despise Macs, BUT I will at least admit that graphics design people tend to love the things and it is probably for a good reason.

That being said, I don't know why the apple guy would tell you to take 4 GB RAM instead of 8 GB. What would it save like $5 out of $45?

RAM is so cheap it doesn't make sense to get less than 8GBs IF you have a 64 bit OS AND IF you aren't on an extreme budget.

Ah, but you forget it's apple we're talking about here. If you go to the online apple store and look at the iMac the OP is considering you'll find they want $200 to up the RAM from 4GB to 8GB.

I suggest if you do go for the Mac, get 4GB and upgrade it to 8GB yourself for about $40 from newegg. Don't go through apple.

That said, the iMac does come with a very good high resolution display that is ideal for photo work. You can find an equivalent display for a Windows PC but you'll have to do your homework. A decent 2560 x 1440 27" equivalent monitor will run about $900-1000. Unless you already have a monitor to use?

I think it mostly comes down to software. Try out some of the Mac software and see if you like it better than the Windows based software you're used to. You could also run your Windows photo software on the mac using parallels or bootcamp.

I didn't mean to imply that paying $200 for +4GB was an option on the table.