Sign in with
Your question
Closed

New Gaming Computer for $2k Budget

Last response: in Systems
January 27, 2012 1:28:35 AM

It's about that time I get a new computer, and to get the most bang for my buck I've decided to build one. Since it's my first time, I would like some help.

Approximate Purchase Date: Next week at the latest.

Budget Range: $2000 After Rebates

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming mostly, but also Internet surfing (college student)

Parts Not Required: OS, Monitor, Keyboard, Mouse

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: I'm comfortable with Newegg and Amazon, but anywhere will do. Prefer to get everything from one place.

Parts Preferences: Not anything specifically as I'm new to the scene and don't know a whole lot about brands, I'll just trust you guys and take your word for it. Although I was highly interested in the performance of the GTX 580 graphics card.

Overclocking: Maybe (if you guys recommend it, I will look more into it)

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe (I have no problem with this, however, the GTX 580 may be a bit too pricey to buy two and still make the $2k budget)

Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080

Additional Comments: I would like it to run quiet, but as long as it doesn't sound like I'm sitting under a helicopter I should be fine.

Any help would be greatly appreciated :) 

More about : gaming computer budget

a b 4 Gaming
January 27, 2012 1:44:11 AM

The 7970 beats the 580 in many games, so I'd just get the single GPU.

i5-2500k should definitely be included. The single best CPU for gaming it is. :p 
Score
January 27, 2012 2:08:09 AM

Yeah I have seen both of those mentioned a lot since I've been researching. Seems like pretty solid choices, however, I have no clue what else to pick to get the best compatibility. I would prefer not having to go through any adapters to connect everything together.
Score
Related resources
a b 4 Gaming
January 27, 2012 2:11:24 AM

It will be fine. :) 
Score
January 27, 2012 4:53:23 AM