Sign in with
Your question

Screen goes black while playing wow

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
November 28, 2011 12:58:03 AM

I have had this issue less frequently while using my old monitor a 23" TRIMON 3D but much more frequent the past 2 days since I changed to a 32" Sony LCD TV. While playing WoW on ultra settings if I put the resolution above 1360 x 768 my screen goes black and I lose all video. My machine still has power lights and the fans still sound like they are operating. I am not very computer savy. My video card is an AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series and the drivers are showing up to date AMD Catalyst 11.11. I have had the Vcard for almost 9 months and the issue started about 5 months ago but once every few weeks so thought it was just random bug. Now much more frequent as in 6 times past 2 days. Not sure if you guys need any additional info but if you do please let me know how to get it since I am not very good with computers. Thanks for the help.
November 28, 2011 1:09:41 AM

What are the temps on the GPU, sounds like it might be overheating. Does it happen ONLY when you change resolution? Or during gameplay?
m
l
November 28, 2011 1:39:00 AM

It only seems to happen when I play WOW, more frequently at higher resolutions. I just installed GPU-Z and normal temps are 43-47 C. The highest it seems to get just playing at this low settings is 65C.
Should I attempt to raise the resolution to duplicate the problem and see if the temp gets higher?
m
l
Related resources
November 28, 2011 1:39:46 AM

Yes, try that. It sounds like an overheating problem. But 65C isn't overheating, not by a long shot. You could also try stress testing with Furmark and see how hot it gets.
m
l
November 28, 2011 1:46:37 AM