Sign in with
Your question
Closed

New build, beeps once, no video.

Last response: in Systems
January 27, 2012 11:37:40 AM

hello, im a first time pc builder and a long time pc user.

i just finished building my new pc and as far as i can tell it should work, all new parts, list below;

motherboard: asus P8Z68-V LE
cpu: intel core i5 2500K
ram: G. Skill F3-12800CL9D-8GBSR (ddr3 1600mhz 4gb x 2)
video card: asus gtx 560Ti
psu: silverstone 750W SST-ST75F-P
HDD: seagate barracuda 2000gb
DVD drive: LG super multi dvd rewriter

problems:

if i turn the pc on after about 15-20 seconds it will do 1 beep(at which point my peripherals turn on) and then will do absolutely nothing until i turn it off.

when i try to turn it off, sometimes it will turn itself back on after about 5-10 seconds.(this has not happened for a while)

there is no video on the screen but all of my peripherals are lighting up(mouse, keyboard, headset)

info:

have tried booting with OS installer cd in the drive.

i have plugged the monitor into the motherboards vga output.

im fairly sure ive plugged in everything that needs doing, i had a problem where it wouldnt turn on because i didnt have the 8 pin connector near the cpu plugged in, and since then i went through the whole manual.

the manual didnt seem to come with a beep code inside it, or if it does, its not listed in the index.

please any help would be greatly appreciated, i would really love to avoid pulling it all apart again...

More about : build beeps video

January 27, 2012 12:59:42 PM

Do you have another graphics card you can swap out to see if it boots?
Score
January 27, 2012 1:18:06 PM