Sign in with
Your question

Please help with parts and budget - AU $3500 first time builder

Last response: in Systems
January 27, 2012 3:40:03 PM

Hi guys,

I want to start by saying this site is full of helpful and wonderful knowledgeable people. I am glad to have found Tom's Hardware. I go by the name JoeKR and I am a 21 yr old male residing in Australia. I have recently decided to build my first computer. Even as an extensive user, I am completely new to computer building and systems. Computing terminology, parts, etc. are new to me (about a week), so there is a lot going through my mind. Please help me in designing a high end build and give advice on any modifications you see fit.

There are A LOT of questions I need answered so please try and answer all of them.

I would like to state my goal is to build a computer that is adequately future proofed (please give estimate of when it may become obsolete) and run future released games on ultra settings without overheating. Overclocking is certainly a possibility, but not a definite, hence the appropriately selected parts.

Here is the stock info from "How to Ask for a New Build Advice" thread:

Approximate Purchase Date: As soon as Corsair website restocks their K90 keyboard. No response from them yet, regardless, I am guessing all the parts (with your feedback) will be bought and ready within 4 weeks time.

Budget Range: 3.5K is probably most appropriate to build a high end computer without going overboard. There is leeway to increase if I'm convinced I need it for my purposes. Please tell me if I'm going overboard.

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Ultra settings gaming adequately future proofed, HD movies, extensive web surfing and general use. Most demanding tasks will pretty much be Diablo III and all future games played in between, e.g. Crysis 3, MW4, BF4, etc on ultra settings. Without gaming, I actually only need a core i3 laptop..

Parts Not Required: All required, as building from scratch.