bjornaz

Honorable
May 11, 2012
Hello friends,

I am looking to purchase a new system. My current one is about to bite the dust. I am a musician and my music is very much important for me. I know about computers, but not enough to consider myself professionally knowledgeable on the subject.

My machines have all been HPs and I am looking to purchase another machine from them. However, I saw they no longer carry Creative sound cards. They are all integrated sound cards -- the Beats Audio sound card. As I mentioned above, I am no professional, but from my experience integrated is usually tantamount to bad, or sub-par. Does anyone have an opinion on this Beats Audio card? It's integrated right, as in I cannot replace it in the future?

I will be using this machine primarily for music production, so I would like to put my hard earned cash somewhere I feel i've been treated well and it'd be music to my ears :)

Now for my second inquiry. How much RAM is enough? My current machine has 3 GB of RAM. When I open instruments in my DAW, I get a little delay in load times. Even at times my sound stutters and pops when there's too much going on (I do large productions with other artists). I was looking for maybe 6 GB - 8 GB of RAM. Would the difference be noticeable with all that extra RAM? How about the processor? 3.3 GHz will do the trick? I believe it is six cores. There're options for dual core and quad core, but if it's not immediately available, I think I could do without it. I am not even sure where the processor or the RAM would come into play in this equation. I am looking for fast performance in loading and playing live instruments in my favorite VST programs, such as the East West Quantum Leap series.

I cannot offer compensation, but any help from this community will earn you large kudos points. Thanks! :hello:

bjornaz

Honorable
May 11, 2012