Sign in with
Your question
Solved

I need a UPS badly now, help plz

Last response: in Components
May 12, 2012 1:49:58 PM

Hello all, ok so long story short, ive been having some real bad luck with loosing work due to power failures and constant power fluctuations amongst other things etc and so , it was heavily suggested to me to get a UPS for my workstation and ive considered them before but theyre kind of pricey. but now its affected me to the point of work suffering (im a web dev) so yes im prepared to purchase one ASAP. Especially in FLA rainy season..its driving me nuts.

somewhere on here and on other forums, people have suggested going to a site called APC (so i assume theyre go0d)

my question is this, ....well this is my setup as a whole. can anyone tell me what type of UPS (as far as power/wattage) i need/should get. budget is um....i mean i NEED to get one and i WILL but...i need something mid range. i dont need the best, nor want the worse/cheapest....something in the middle is fine. i just need something that when the power suddenly goes out or pauses, leaves, then comes back etc...that i can keep working or at the very least, give me enough time to save.

Also, can any UPS work or???? can i go to say best buy and get any one? depending on the power?
anyways, here's my custom setup:

- ASUS Crosshair formula IV motherboard
-AMD phenom II black edi. quad core @ 3.4ghz.
- OCZ 90gig SSD (forget the type) (boot drive)
- 1 TB HDD(internal)
- 1 600 gig HDD(internal)
- 1 1.5 TB HDD(internal)
- 16g of kingston RAM
- Nvidia GTX 470
- Nvidia GTX GT 430 (secondary)
- H50 PSU cooler.
- Canon USB powered scanner. (power drawn from this i assume is minimal)
- G15 keyboard (power drawn from this i assume is minimal)
- Wacom usb based drawing tablet (power drawn from this i assume is minimal)
-750w corair PSU

Thanks for any help provided in advanced.

More about : ups badly plz

Best solution

May 12, 2012 2:11:44 PM