Computer turns on/off every 5 seconds

NoodleSoup17

Distinguished
Jan 28, 2012
Hi. Im fairly new to working with computers, so please bear with me. About 2 weeks ago the monitor for my desktop computer refused to wake up from sleep mode. To try and remedy this problem, I hard-powered down and tried to reboot it. Instead, the computer booted up for 5 seconds then shut down. 5 seconds later, the system tried to power up again but still only stayed on for 5 seconds, and the only way to stop this was to turn off the power or unplug the PSU from the back. About two months ago I bought a new graphics card and PSU, an ATI Radeon 5770 and a Cooler Master eXtreme Power 500w PS. After researching a bit, it seems that the PSU is at fault. I have read that the fault lays in insufficient power making it to the mobo, but as it worked fine before, i dont think its any loose wiring somewhere.

Note: I tried re-seating the RAM as a possible solution to the monitor not waking up, however this was after the computer stopped working.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

First things first. Make sure the power or reset buttons on the front panel are working properly, are not shorted out etc (that goes for their respective connectors on the mobo, as well.). Inspect the capacitors on the mobo to look for bulging. If all this is well, try borrowing a PSU and temporarily replacing it.

NoodleSoup17

Distinguished
Jan 28, 2012

How should I test these? Also, I'm not sure what the capacitors would look like even if they hadn't bulged. Specification please?