Sign in with
Your question

Upgrading my PC - help me make a wise decision!

Last response: in Systems
January 29, 2012 6:18:35 AM

Hi forum!

I just finished writing out my post only moments ago and mozilla decided to close on me, so this one is going to be quick.

I want to update my pc as my flashy core 2 duo from four years ago is no longer flashy =( I need some advice with as to what I need to upgrade, but I'm not good with hardware so bear with me.

What I use my computer for? Casual gaming and general internet browsing - i.e. I want to play games like Skyrim and The Sims 3 and have them look pretty and not stutter, but I don't necessarily want to spend up and crossfire/overclock as I don't know enough about PCs to do that safely.

What I think I need to upgrade? I'm thinking I need a new CPU,motherboard and operating system (want to upgrade from vista -> 7). I'm not quite sure about my psu and ram though...

What are my specs?

Intel Core 2 Duo E8300 @2.83ghz
Intel DG33BU - AAD79951-407 motherboard (not sure what numbers I'm meant to quote here...)
4gb of DDR2 ram
Nvidia GeForce GTX 550 Ti
300gb hard-drive space (wouldn't mind buying a terrabyte extra)
620w Antec PSU
19" widescreen monitor
Windows Vista Operating System

What are my questions?

What would be a good CPU/motherboard combination that will work well with my PSU and GTX 550 Ti?
Should I buy another tower that is suited to my new motherboard to be safe?
Will I be able to utulize my DDR2 ram, or will I need to buy new ram for the new motherboard? Is there a motherboard that can support my DDR2 ram, or am I better off just buying new ram?
32 or 64 bit windows 7?
p.s. I'm willing to spend between $1,000 - $1,500 AUD

Thankyou!
January 29, 2012 7:27:41 AM