Help picking mobo with 2600k( 1st build)

lackofrespect

Honorable
May 13, 2012
I have the 2600k that I got on sale for $200 at micro center a few weeks ago but now I am not exactly sure which mono to get. I had been planning to wait for Ivy but this deal seemed to good to pass on. I still planned to get a z77.

I just wanted to know what everyone thought was the best way to go. I do game some on PC but the only game as of now I would be playing would be Starcraft. I am an electrical engineering student so I do get into a lot of different programs for that. So far I will occasionally use Autocad electrical, Matlab, NX, and maybe some solid works.

I was looking at the GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H but the reviews once Ivy released have been horrible. Since then I was looking at different boards around $200 give or take.

Any advice would be great!

EDIT: I forgot to ask about a few other components that I will need. I do have the 6850 which should be enough for me but I may end up getting a second down the road. Based on that I need help choosing:

1. Memory - I think I can use up to 1333 with my processor but know only some basics about memory so no idea what to choose.
2. Power Supply - Not sure what size I would need
3. Case - Haven't research these yet since I hadn't picked a mono but I am pretty sure it will be ATX.

"I was looking at the GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H but the reviews once Ivy released have been horrible"

Really? What reviews? provide links. Everything I've read from reputable sources claim this to be a very good Motherboard.

lackofrespect

Honorable
May 13, 2012