Sign in with
Your question

Asus Sabertooth 990FX wont POST / BOOT

Last response: in Systems
January 29, 2012 6:56:27 PM

Hello,

I am a rookie at building computers. It has been a few years since I put my last one together.
So, please bear with my questions.

I recently purchased components to build a new desktop computer. Below is a listing of the primary components being used:

Motherboard: Asus Sabertooth 990 FX

CPU: AMD FX 6100 - 6-core, Part # FD6100WMGUSBX

GPU: Nvidia GTX 550Ti

RAM: 16 GB ddr3 1866mhz (VisionTek) memory

CoolMaster - V8 180W Cooling - # RRUV8XBU11113405570

Case: CoolMaster # HAF 932

Initially I carefully assembled all of the components into the case i.e. carefully mounted the CPU into the socket of the Motherboard, installed memoary, graphics card, cooling fan, etc....I also installed a WD SATA harddrive and DVD reader/righter, etc.....

After assembling all of this, I plugged it into power, turned the switch to 'on' on the power supply and then powered up the mother board by depressing the switch on the case. I can not get any display on the monitor...so I assumed that I did not have the video card seated correctly. I removed it and pressed it firmly back into the slot (with all power removed)...After repowering, I have the same results..

So, after reading a few posts, I decided to "bread board" the components to see if I could simply get the motherboard/cpu to POST. From everthing that I can tell, it is not posting...

If you look at the picture below, you can see my current setup. I have it stripped back to bare bones without any hard drive or DVD....

The motherboard has the CPU installed, the cooling fan is installed, power is brought up to the board as well as the CPU power. The memory is installed. The video card is installed.