Sign in with
Your question

Help me choose between two laptops, two purposes!! I'm a rookie!

Last response: in Systems
January 30, 2012 6:11:32 PM

Just wanted some of you guys with hardware experience to weigh-in on these two laptop options, unbiased.

Alienware M18x
Intel Core i7 2860QM 2.5GHz (3.6GHz w/Turbo Boost, 8MB Cache)
4GB Dual Channel DDR3 at 1866MHz (2DIMMS)
18.4-inch WideFHD 1920 x 1080 WLED
Dual 2GB GDDR5 AMD Radeon HD 6990M AMD CrossFireX OR Dual 2GB GDDR5 NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 580M – NVIDIA® SLI® - Which would you choose?
1TB RAID 0, 2x 500GB, 7200RPM Solid State Hybrid
Slot-Loading Dual Layer Blu-ray Reader, BR-ROM, DVD+-RW, CD-RW
Soundblaster X-Fi Hi Def Audio - Software Enabled
Killer Wireless-N 1103 a/g/n 3x3 MIMO

Apple MacBook Pro 17"
2.5GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7
4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM — 2x2GB
750GB Serial ATA Drive @ 7200 rpm
SuperDrive 8x (DVD±R DL/DVD±RW/CD-RW)
Intel HD Graphics 3000 AMD Radeon HD 6770M with 1GB GDDR5

I need a laptop option, I know for half the price of either one of these laptops, I could have a killer desktop setup. But with work and school, I need to be able to have the system mobile, I don't mind the size of either laptop.

I'm pretty sure for gaming, the alienware would be the clear winner. Now pretend I wasn't a gamer, at all. Which computer would you go with for reliability and usage for movies, browsing, internet, torrents, streaming, school, notes etc, and why???

**Please, no "save that $ and build an excellent desktop". The money isn't an issue, won a certificate toward it from work. I need a laptop, not desktop.

More about : choose laptops purposes rookie

January 31, 2012 9:06:44 AM

With gaming and price out of the picture, I would go Macbook Pro.

Half the weight to lug around,, very high quality. If you need Windows later, there is always BootCamp.
m
l
January 31, 2012 9:37:24 AM