Your question

[GRAPHICS CARDS]New rig. Black Screen

Tags:
  • Graphics Cards
  • Graphics
  • Product
Last response: in Graphics & Displays
November 30, 2011 8:34:35 PM

I JUST finished installing all the components for my new rig. I plug it in, turn on the power, everything powers up fine, but the graphics card (or so I think).

Keep in mine I'm new to building pc's.
As far as previous performance, there is none. This is BRAND NEW.
I've read plenty of threads, but they all pertain to people UPGRADING from previous graphics cards, whilst I have started with this one and am having problems.

When the system boots, absolutely nothing appears on the screen. I can't enter the BIOS to change settings because I can't see anything. I can't install drivers because I have no OS installed. I can't install an OS because I can't see anything! I'm stuck and don't know where to turn. Any ideas??

Motherboard
MSI 870A-G54

RAM
Corsair Vengeance CMZ16GX3M4A1600C9 4 x 4GB
Timing- 9,9,9,24
Voltage- 1.5v

CPU/Cooler
AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition
Stock Cooler

Video Card
EVGA GeForce GTX 550 Ti
01G-P3-1556-KR

PowerSupply
OCZ ModXStream Pro Power Supply 600W

Hard Drive
Western Digital WD3200AAKX Caviar Blue Hard Drive 320GB

OS
(will be) Windows 7

Case
NZXT M59-001BK M59

And just a side note, I get no beeps, and my keyboard doesn't seem to respond as none of the lights come on as usual(it's an older keyboard)

More about : graphics cards rig black screen

November 30, 2011 8:37:54 PM

A bad mother board could be the problem. Does it MB boot? do you see the bios test right after you power it on?
November 30, 2011 8:40:35 PM

All the components are running fine. All fans are running, even the one on the graphics card. As far as: "do you see the test right after you power it on?" uhh.. as I mentioned before.. I'm new to this.. soo what are you asking?? :p  Bare with me
Related resources
November 30, 2011 8:43:59 PM