[Properly Laidout Help Request] Animation/Graphics Station First Time

shaboom

Distinguished
Jan 31, 2012
Approximate Purchase Date: ASAP

Budget Range: 300-700 Before / After Rebates

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Animation and Graphic Design (Adobe CS, ToonBoom, possibly Blender3D)

Parts Not Required: Wacom Intuos Small, Keyboard (Dunno the make), Monitor

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: tigerdirect.ca, canadacomputers.ca, or any other sources you may be able to suggest... I'm new to this.

Parts Preferences: I need to have at least dual cores, video card would ideally support Direct3D or OpenGL... I'm not exactly sure how to check what cards would support this?

Overclocking: Yes

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe - Unfortunately, I'm not sure what the advantages to this are.

Monitor Resolution: 1400x1050+?

Additional Comments: I'd like something I could work sound editing off of as well as compositing video. I'm probably going to have to burn things to disk and transfer through flash keys. I've got to get this as low price as possible... unfortunately my current work station bit it after a month into going freelance, and not having the studio support (or funds) backing me is gonna make this tough. The beast doesn't need to be pretty, it just needs to get the job done well.

The parts I'm looking at so far, which may, or may not meet these requirements are listed below. I'm kind of confused about how to read the tech specs on things though I've been reading up for a few days now while my computer's been in the shop and trying to figure it out. I'd appreciate your input/feedback.

Intel Core i3 - 2120 3.3GHz Dual-Core Processor

Thermaltake CLP0556 39.7 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler

ASRock P67 Extreme 4 (B3) ATX LGA1155 Motherboard

Kingston HyperX 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3-1600 Memory

Western Digital Caviar Green 1 TB 3.5" 5400 RPM Internal Hard Drive