Will my rig hold?

oerg

Honorable
May 15, 2012
Hi

I am a computer noob and will be building a aming rig for the first time, and am wondering if you guys have any comments about it before I buy the parts:

CPU+mobo: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3 / i7-2700k
GPU: Sapphire 7970 OC
HDD/SSD: Seagate 2TB/Plextor 64GB
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 2X4GB 1600 Cl9
CPU Cooler: CM 212 Plus
DVD RW: Samsung 22x
PSU: Seasonic 760W X Series

I intend to overclock the CPU to about 4.5 Ghz. I also intend to overclock the GPU. I am wondering if the PSU will be enough?

Also, I am wondering if the price of 7970 will drop further with the introduction of gtx 670 but I am rather impatient due to the availability of the 670 and 680 cards. Is it wise to wait?

Are there any compatibility issues that I have missed out with the rig? I am quite nervous as I do not want to buy the wrong stuff and have to rebuy the components. Any other recommendations?

Thanks for your time!

Zephids

Honorable
Apr 20, 2012
You have a near identical build to mine. I do have a couple comments regarding it.

1) The 760 watt powersupply will be enough to overclock both, but if you go crossfire down the road you'll need a new power supply.

2) If you're going to go 4.5 Ghz you really should get liquid cooling, I personally have a Corsair H100. Mine personally goes to 60C at full load with an ambient temperature of 78 F.

amrcnfirestorm

Honorable
May 15, 2012
It'll hold. Though.. I would advise buying a case as well. :)

Anyways, here's my comments regarding your parts choices.

CPU+Mobo: Good.
GPU: IF you like the 670, you can get in line for one @ Tiger Direct. Google it, then plug in the card number to the sites search engine.
HDD/SSD: I like western digital's reliability over Seagate, but everyone has their own opinion.
Memory: We have the same memory :)