Is my New PSU broke?

jonathan7921

Honorable
May 15, 2012
I bought a 700W Raidmax PSU (did not know how bad they are), and I followed the instructions on the motherboard layout to hook it up.

This is the PSU link
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817152042

I plugged the 20 pin into the mobo (LGA 1155 intel z68).

Then I plugged a 2x2 plug into the ATX CPU part.

I also plugged pci into my Nvidia graphics card.

I turned the PSU on, but none of the fans were running.

One thing I noticed was on the motherboard, that their was a green light that lit up next to "standby."

I was wondering if I hooked it up wrong or if my PSU cam D.O.A.?

Thank you for all the help, I'm just a noob trying to get into computers :p

would have thought you should be plugging 24 pins not 20 to the mainboard

and probably 2 x 4 pin plug to the 12v cpu not 1 x 4 pin(or 2x2 as you put it)

whats the actual motherboard make and model number

edit--yep looking at the psu specs it has

Connectors
1 x 20+4 pins Main Connector
1 x 4+4 pins ATX 12V/EPS 12V Connector

those are what you should be connecting

no the psu should work--though dont think much of raidmax

looks like that board only has a 4 pin cpu 12v not an 8

does the 1 x 4+4 pins ATX 12V/EPS 12V Connector on the psu split into 2 x4 plugs?

but you still need to connect 24 pins to the main power not 20

some psus have a 20 pin with a 4 pin that can attach to it if your board uses 24 pins

doesnt go anywhere if your motherboard only has a 4 pin connector as in your case

looking at the psu specs it does say 20 pin plus 4 pin

so you need to make sure the 4 pin is attached to the 20 pins--it should be able to just slide along side the 20 pin

and its on the same cable from the psu as the 20 pin not a 4 pin on a seperate cable

nope other way round--you need to make sure you are using all 24 pins for that motherboard

and it can only connect one way so you cant get it the wrong way round