Sign in with
Your question

750w PSU for GTX 580 SLI

Last response: in Components
May 16, 2012 12:09:03 AM

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to read my question. Before I begin, I just want to say I'm a bit new to building PCs, and I'm actually in the process of building my first Gaming PC, and I'm in a state of paranoia about my hardware choice, and I was wondering if anyone can give me advice or inform me if this hardware I chose is good enough.

The two components in question are:

Graphics Card: EVGA GeForce GTX 580 1536MB GDDR5 Superclocked SLI

Power Supply Unit: Corsair Professional Series HX750W 750W PSU

Basically, I want to know if this PSU is enough to support my video card. I've been told the GTX 580 is quite the power hog, and I've had bad experiences with PC's burning out due to the lack of a decent PSU. I asked one of my friends if this supply was good enough, and he did not ease my thoughts at all because he said that 750w was not enough and that I can seriously damage my Graphics Card and other components.

In short, all I want to know is if I can safely run this GTX 580 SLI safely and without worry with this PSU. I'm a bit paranoid about this and would appreciate any help.

Thanks in advance.

More about : 750w psu gtx 580 sli

a b ) Power supply
May 16, 2012 12:23:04 AM

If your actually going to be running two 580's in SLI then you definitely want a bigger PSU. For a single 580 card then the 750 is fine. Go up to an 850 if you plan on a high overclock system with a single 580.
Related resources
May 16, 2012 12:23:56 AM