Noob Question - Ivy Bridge, 4 cores?

dbit

Honorable
May 13, 2012
I may be quite possibly switching over from mac to pc this summer and am looking to build a workstation. I'm fairly new to customizing and building and am trying to understand all these differences between xeons, i7's, sandy bridge, sandy bridge-e, ivy bridge, etc.

For a while I was sold on the idea of a dual lower ghz xeon-e5 workstation for my 3d/compositing work, but I still see a lot of people pushing the idea of an overclocked i7 as being an worthy competitor for a lot of the type of work I do.

Anyhow, I've been led to believe that for my applications, which can usually use a lot of multicore multithreaded operations, that more cores are better. I've been looking at an 8-core cpu, or possibly dual hex. I've been told to wait for ivy bridge, especially for graphics work and performance, but I notice statements that ivy bridge cpu's have a maximum of 4 cores? How does this leave them stacking up against previous sandy bridge/e 6 and 8 core cpu's?

I'm a little confused about this, why intels next gen microarchitecture would have less cores? Can somebody help clarify this for me?

Solution
This one is a bit easier. Ivy Bridge isn't at the top end of the Intel desktop roadmap.
intel_cpu_roadmap_ww08_550.jpg

There is another roadmap around somewhere for the workstation / data center CPUs which I can't dig out ATM.
On LGA1155 I5 has 4 cores and can do 4 threads at a time, I7 has 4 cores but can deal with 8 threads because of hyper threading. On LGA 2011 you have I7 38xx that has 4 cores 8 threads and 39xx that has 6 cores and 12 threads at a time. Price wise the i7 1155 is a very attractive system for your use.

Go at this from another direction.
What does your software require to reach the level of performance you need?
Like, how many cores? How many threads?

Are you going professional? Going to earn a living with your work?