I7 2600k vs i7 3770 stock for video editing?

jpastuch

Honorable
Apr 29, 2012
Hey guys, for the past few weeks I have nervously been trying to put a budget (under 1000) build together for video editing.

I jumped on the chance to get the new Ivy Bridge processors since I had no plans to overclock. I heard IB is not ideal for overclocking so I figured I'd stick to stock and take advantage of the built in GPU since I have no plans on getting a discrete card for a while. I picked up the 3770 at microcenter the other day for $270. However, something told me not to break the seal, and I haven't...so...

I've never OC'd and the extra cost of aftermarket cooler and paste, although not much more of a cost, seemed like a hassle to me. Since this is my first build, I'm going to be nervous enough since I;m not the greatest with mechanical things.

But...not I'm thinking if I should return the 3770 and get a 2600k. Why? well, I plan on editing on this for at least the next FOUR years, so I'm wondering if OCing a 2600k would squeeze out better performance rather than running a stock IB for the next 4 years. I don't know how large of a boost that OC would make for video editing or encoding times.

Anyway, as you can see I'm rambling. Thoughts? I honestly don't want to drive back to Microcenter, which is an hour away, and return it...but if OCing will give me a dramatic difference in future video editing, then I feel like it might be worth it.

jpastuch

Honorable
Apr 29, 2012
OK, sounds good (less driving!), was just thinking the OCing on the 2600k may shave off several minutes per rendering...but if I can compensate with GPU and extra RAM and the difference is not HUGE....

I'm just very picky about my components and keep going back and forth! I'm sure you guys understand....

dedekind

Distinguished
Apr 14, 2012