Aidan-O-Matic

Honorable
May 18, 2012
Hello, Forum.
My question seems simple, but I've been googling for hours now with no results. Which contributes more to the heat produced by a processor; clock speed or cores? That is, hypothetically which would run hotter, a 1.8Ghz quad core or a 2.3Ghz dual core?
Thanks

willzzz

Honorable
Apr 27, 2012
We are talking heat output here rather than temperature right?

Are we talking about a specific architecture? Because that will make a big difference.

Aidan-O-Matic

Honorable
May 18, 2012
Its an AMD Phenom 2 in an HP pavilion G6 laptop. Being a total noob, I'm not really familiar with either of those terms. I suppose heat output, as I can modify system settings to change the temperature. (but that's a guess based on reading one wikipedia article)

Why do you want to know. Looking up the TDP of the specific chips according the manufacturer would give you an idea, but they are always fairly broad brackets.

This gives you an idea of the heat being produced and dumped into the case, the internal temp will only be loosely related to the TDP.

^ Not speaking "for Um" (forum :p), but heat production should be fairly linear for the # of cores (i.e., 2 identical cores loaded equally should produce double the heat of just one). However clock speed will eventually require an increase in core voltage, and power (heat) varies as the square of voltage (P = V^2/R). Thus, clock speed contributes more past where the # of cores line crosses the exponential curve of clock speed..

Each cpu will have a specific power design point.
In general, newer chips operate more efficiently with lower power needs.
They also do more work per clock cycle.