Need advice on pc build

Tags:
  • Homebuilt
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
February 3, 2012 4:37:08 PM

Approximate Purchase Date: Probably around oct/nov this year

Budget Range: £400-£500

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Mainly day to day jobs, light gaming.

Parts Not Required: Keyboard, Mouse, OS

Preferred Website for Parts: Ebuyer

Parts Preferences: by brand or type: Intel processors

Overclocking: Maybe

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe

Monitor Resolution: Already got one

I need advice on what optical drive to buy and what cables i need for connection, and also some general advice about whether i have got all the components right or not, and the quality of the components i have chosen, as this is my first build. Below is the list of the components i have found so far.

Corsair 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1333MHz XMS3 Memory Kit CL9 1.5V unbuffered

Seagate 500GB 3.5" SATA-III 6Gb/s Barracuda Hard Drive 7200RPM 16MB Cache

Palit GTS 450 1024MB GDDR5 DVI VGA HDMI Out PCI-E Graphics Card

Gigabyte GA-Z68AP-D3 Z68 Socket 1155 8 Channel Audio ATX Motherboard

Intel Core i5 2400 3.1GHz Socket LGA 1155 6MB L3 Cache Retail Boxed Processor

Casecom 400W 12cm Fan PSU - 20+4pin 1x SATA 4x Molex

Casecom K5-7688 All Black Case with 120mm Blue LED Front Fan

More about : advice build

a b B Homebuilt system
February 3, 2012 4:59:02 PM

for optical drive just make sure it has a SATA interface (IDE is the cheaper, older , slower interface)

cables for connection should be provided with the peripherals such as the motherboard and the optical drive. products with OEM next to it do not come with the connectors (those products are a little bit cheaper, but they do not come with the necessary cables to connect the device)

The build looks good, you should get 550ti or 6870

as for the power supply you should look for something between 500-650watts with two 6 pin pcie connectors (power connectors for the graphic card)
February 3, 2012 5:17:50 PM