Sign in with
Your question

Virtualization Host Build

Last response: in Systems
February 3, 2012 5:24:24 PM

Virtualization Host Build

I am a Pre-Sales Systems Engineer, and I sell a fairly complex software product. Our physical Demo/Test facilities are 1000 miles away from me, and our Virtual ones suffer from lack of resources, clogged schedules (my environment's performance suffers when several others are working concurrently), plus we can't show how our product works to manage/support Virtual environments from within a shared Virtual environment.

So, I need my own. I'm building a NAS (I have one already that I bought, but am not overly happy with), the contents of which I'm dealing with on the FreeNAS forums, as that's the Open Source product I'm going to use to run it (I'd prefer OpenFiler, but that project seems to be stalled, and the Dev Team is completely silent to the user community).

The other piece I need is the Virtualization host. The last time I built my own system was around 1997 or 1998 - up to then I had built numerous systems, but things have gotten a little more complicated.

This host will hopefully run VMware VSphere 5 (aka ESX 5) although VMware Hypervisor (ESXi 5) will be sufficient. I can't run Workstation or Server, since I need VCenter for my product. One of my concerns is that ESX won't run, or pieces of it, on the hardware platform I'm considering. There's a site, ESXWhitebox.com, that details various whitebox builds and their ESX compatibility issues. But they don't have any info on ESX 5 . . . I'd also like a dual-socket solution to get more cores running, and that puts me into the "Server Motherboard" realm, which is fine from a cost perspective, but I need something that will fit comfortably on top of a bookcase. A mid-Tower ATX Case is as big as I'm willing to get, and when I look at the pre-Packaged servers (Dell T610) and the like, they are sorely lacking in features (no PCIe 3, USB3, built in SAS support, etc.).