Sign in with
Your question

XFX 6870 Artifacts/Weird anomolies

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
December 5, 2011 2:55:01 PM

Hello folks. Long time reader, first time poster.

I have been building my own computers for about 15 years now. Needless to say, I have a little experience in this area as it is part of my job as well. That aside....

I recently upgraded my PC. Here's my specs:

MSI 970A-G45
Athlon Phenom X4 955 at Stock speeds(used from previous rig)
Corsair Vengeance 8GB PC12800 DDR3 1600MHz at Stock speeds(new)
XFX Radeon HD 6870 1GB GDDR5(new)
OCZ 120GB SOLID 3 SERIES SATA III 2.5 Hard Drive(boot drive) <- also has most used programs, drivers and games.
Western Digital 500GB Green (programs and documents)
Sony DVDRW 24x(used from previous rig)
BFG 550W PSU(used from previous rig)
Windows 7 64bit Ultimate

I purchased the new equipment on Nov. 11. Everything ran great for a while. I generally play Battlefield Bad Company 2 and occasionally I play Battlefield 3. Those are the only two games I currently play. While playing Battlefield Bad Company 2 on Nov 25th I started getting some weird blocks on the screen. They looked almost like big block walls blocking my view etc. I exited the game and the menus had lines shooting thru them with flickering effects. I rebooted and tried the game again and it seemed to run fine.

Next day I decided to play again and the game started out fine again and then started acting up as before. This time, I gave up and went to bed. The next day I tried the game again and the artifacts in the game began almost immediately. That same day I decided to submit a support ticket to XFX before opting to return the card. They advised me to try another video card if I had one. I did (an XFX Radeon 5670). It ran fine and did not exhibit the same behavior as the 6870. In lieu of that they asked me to RMA the card, which I did.