Benefits of 64 bit?

Status
Not open for further replies.

freshbuilder

Distinguished
Dec 19, 2011
Sorry for the noob question but I'm new to the whole building my own rig and realized I'd have to get my own OS pretty soon. Now my question is simple as stated by the title of this thread. Also where can I get a copy of windows 7? I saw some on Tigerdirect and newegg selling for $99 which is cheaper when compared to here in my country. My dad is about to go to the US and was wondering if buying there would be a good idea as I live in the Philippines. Also the ones I saw are OEM and say that its for one PC use only. Whats OEM and does one time installation mean I can't reinstall the OS again in the event my hard drive crashes and I have to reformat it or something?

Thanks in advance to those who'll respond.

Solution

64bit OS is the way...

duxducis

Distinguished
Sep 24, 2007
For regular use all that 64bit means is ability to use more then 4GB of ram
you can install on your computer
[strike]"one time installation" think you talking about license copies, since they do sell 3 pack for example.[/strike]

Dec 2, 2011
I always recommend Newegg to people. It's usually cheaper than retail stores in the U.S. although I don't know about getting shipping to the Philippines. My partner has family in the Philippines and usually her family orders stuff and has it sent here in the U.S. and then we check it and repackage it then send it ourselves to the Philippines to save on shipping.

OEM means Original Equipment Manufacturer. Basically it means you get no support from Microsoft and there are more restrictions about installation. I'm not good with the legalese, so somebody else is probably better to explain the technicalities.

OEM is the exact same as retail except for 2 things.