Sign in with
Your question

Options to monitor internet traffic

Last response: in Networking
February 23, 2011 12:39:49 AM

so my ISP has recently announced that they are going to start charging $1 for every GB that their customers go over their monthly limit. i have a 100GB/mo package and i figure that's sufficient for my habits which consist of approx 40GB of torrents, a bit of skyping, bit of browsing, etc. my ISP makes usage graphs available online, when i checked earlier last month to confirm i'm staying under my 100GB limit the graphs said over the past 12 months the highest i topped was 90GB, usually in the 70's. pretty much what i expected. but when i check their usage graphs again recently it says i've been using over 400GB for the past 3 months straight (as far back as the new graphs go). i call BS and find it very suspicious that my internet usage magically quadruples the same time my ISP wants to start charging for overusage, especially retro-active.
anyhoo, i want to somehow monitor my internet traffic usage independently but i'm not sure the best way to go about it.

my home network is the typical modem -> router -> LAN.
my router is a new netgear wndr3700, it has a traffic meter built in, but considering it's only forms of notification is cutting the internet off altogether or changing a green blinking LED to and orange blinking LED when the defined limit is reached, it's kinda useless. i just got it a couple months ago too, so buying a new router with better traffic monitoring isn't an option.

i could put a net meter on each and every computer i have, then sum up their usage stats, but that would be a pain in the ass and wouldn't take my PS3 or WDTV media player into account, as little as they're used online.